Search Form

Timeline of Executive Actions on China (2017–2021)


This document covers executive actions taken by the Administration of President Donald Trump directed at China. Executive actions include (1) executive orders from the president and (2) other significant measures taken by federal agencies relating to U.S.-China policy.

Between 2017 and 2021, the Trump Administration issued eight executive orders that primarily involved China. The Trump Administration issued an additional seven executive orders that did not explicitly target China but affected key policy areas relating to the U.S.-China relationship. In addition to these 15 executive orders, the Commission identified 116 China-related measures taken by White House and other executive departments and agencies from 2017 to 2021.

A list of all currently identified executive actions, including both executive orders and measures taken by executive departments and agencies, can be found in the appendix of this document. This document is based upon press releases by the White House and by executive departments and agencies.

Foreign Affairs,
Intellectual property,